Call us — 0113 322 3083
Mon–Fri · 9am–5:30pm · No fix, no fee
Start a free diagnostic →
Service · deleted files

Deleted isn’t destroyed — yet.

Deleted something in the Recycle Bin, shift-deleted a folder, or watched another employee delete your documents off the shared drive to oblivion? A delete operation removes the signpost to the location where your data resides; it does not remove your data. The data stored at that exact location is still there, in a block which has been marked for reuse, and the “race” to recover it is simply against when the next write occurs. The first step in recovering from deleting something on your drive is to stop using your drive. The second step is to follow the instructions on this page.

two decades’ experience
In-house, never outsourced
Only pay if we recover your data, on most jobs
// the mechanics

What delete actually deletes.

When you delete a file on a system that uses a file system (and most do), the file system simply removes an entry from the database that describes where the file is stored, who owns it, etc. It does this by removing the entry, but leaves all the data exactly in place. Until something new needs the space, nothing changes, byte for byte, for the file that was “deleted”. Therefore, when you’re trying to recover files after a deletion event, time plays a huge role in how successful you will be. If you take a hard drive out of use within minutes of the deletion (i.e., before anyone has written anything to the drive) and get it into a lab or a specialised company, you’ll likely find nearly everything intact. However, if the same drive had been in use over the course of a week (e.g., for downloading software, receiving update packages for installed programs, and visiting websites), chances are good that much of what was deleted will have already been overwritten by another piece of data. Every single thing you do with your computer generates additional writing to the storage media. Booting up a computer generates write activity. Therefore, whenever there’s an important deletion event, you should take immediate steps, even if they feel overly dramatic: shut off the machine immediately and bring the affected drive(s) into the lab, and do not ‘just quickly install a recovery tool’ onto the very disk holding your deleted files.

// the hard cases

Shared drives, phones-of-record, and the SSD asterisk.

A deletion from a network share or NAS is an immediate deletion of the file; the recycle bin will be skipped. The immediate deletion creates a secondary question regarding who deleted what when. We are sometimes able to help determine this along with recovering the data, using snapshots as well as our forensic service. Camera and card deletions performed in-device follow the standard race; however, the additional rule would apply in this scenario: there cannot be any additional images taken. The honest asterisk: on modern solid state drives (SSDs), TRIM typically erases the files within minutes after they have been deleted. At diagnostic, we’ll let you know right away whether your case is beyond the point of TRIM physics rather than billing you for hope.

// questions

Asked often, answered straight.

Strong odds, given the machine shuts down immediately. One hour of light use will wipe out very few things. Shut it down and write an approximate list of lost data and its origin. Get the drive here as soon as possible. The recovery log gives a detailed account of all existing information prior to making any decision(s).

First, we recover your files. NAS deletions are usually easy to restore once we receive the volume in time. If snapshots existed, then recovering deleted items may be a simple process. “Who” and “when” are forensic issues, and they can coexist with our efforts (let us know ahead of time if this is important).

There are two ways to get your files back. In one way, where the file-system entries survive, you’ll be able to see all of them again as they were before, including their original names, their folders, and their dates. The other way is when the entry for a file in the file system is removed so that no name or folder is provided; then you will have all of the pictures restored to you fully, but each picture can’t be identified by name because it’s labelled as generic, ordered first by the date they were created and then by camera type if possible.

0113 322 3083